At A Glance

Mission Statement

APEC is the Asia Pacific’s premier economic forum. The primary goal is to support sustainable economic growth and prosperity in the Asia-Pacific region.

APEC is united in our drive to build a dynamic, sustainable and harmonious Asia-Pacific community by championing free and open trade and investment, promoting and accelerating regional economic integration, encouraging economic and technical cooperation, and facilitating a favorable and sustainable business environment. APEC initiatives turn policy goals into concrete results and agreements into tangible benefits.


The idea of APEC was firstly publicly broached by former Prime Minister of Australia Bob Hawke during a speech in Seoul, Korea on 31 January 1989. Ten months later, 12 Asia-Pacific economies met in Canberra, Australia to establish APEC. The founding members were: Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and the United States.

China, Hong Kong, China and Chinese Taipei joined in 1991. Mexico and Papua New Guinea followed in 1993. Chile acceded in 1994. And in 1998, Peru, Russia and Viet Nam joined, taking the full membership to 21.

Between 1989 and 1992, APEC met as an informal senior official and Ministerial level dialogue. In 1993, former United States President Bill Clinton, established the practice of an annual APEC Economic Leaders' Meeting to provide greater strategic vision and direction to cooperation in the region.

Member Economies

APEC has 21 members. The word “economies” is used to describe APEC members because the APEC cooperative process is predominantly concerned with trade and economic issues, with members engaging with one another as economic entities.

APEC Members Date of Joining
Australia 6-7 Nov 1989
Brunei Darussalam 6-7 Nov 1989
Canada 6-7 Nov 1989
Chile 11-12 Nov 1994
People's Republic of China 12-14 Nov 1991
Hong Kong, China 12-14 Nov 1991
Indonesia 6-7 Nov 1989
Japan 6-7 Nov 1989
Republic of Korea 6-7 Nov 1989
Malaysia 6-7 Nov 1989
Mexico 17-19 Nov 1993
New Zealand 6-7 Nov 1989
Papua New Guinea 17-19 Nov 1993
Peru 14-15 Nov 1998
The Philippines 6-7 Nov 1989
Russia 14-15 Nov 1998
Singapore 6-7 Nov 1989
Chinese Taipei 12-14 Nov 1991
Thailand 6-7 Nov 1989
The United States 6-7 Nov 1989
Viet Nam 14-15 Nov 1998